Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards 2018 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards have been announced at a ceremony in Glasgow.

The awards celebrate the work of journalists in Scotland who have covered refugee and asylum issues fairly, accurately and with care and insight over the last twelve months.

This year we received more entries than ever before, with an extremely strong shortlist including news, features, broadcast and student journalism. Full list of winners and runners-up is included below.

Scottish Refugee Council’s media manager Pauline Diamond Salim said: “The Refugee Festival media awards are a way to honour and celebrate the  quality human rights reporting being done in Scotland. We know we are lucky at Scottish Refugee Council to work with so many talented and committed journalists. It’s a real privilege for us to work with people throughout the year on stories that need to be told.”

The awards were hosted by Scottish Refugee Council in partnership with the British Red Cross and the National Union of Journalists Scotland and were held at the Corinthian Club after being relocated following the fire at Glasgow School of Art.

2018 media awards winners

News category

Winner:  Karin Goodwin, Sunday Herald

Runner-up: Kirsteen Paterson, The National

Features category

Winner: Liam Kirkaldy, Holyrood Magazine

Runner-up: Stephen Stewart, Daily Record

Local press category

Winner: Daniel Lawson, BBC Radio Shetland

Runner-up: Christina O’Neill, Glasgow Live

Online / multimedia category

Winner: Karin Goodwin & Angela Catlin, The Ferret

Runner-up: Stefan Bienkowski, The TwoPointOne

Broadcast and film category

Winner: Firecrest Films

Runner-up: Chris Harvey, STV

Student journalist

Winner: Naina Bhardwaj, Blasting News

Leave a Reply