Media Awards - shortlist announced

Media Awards: Winners Announced

Published on 16-Jun-2023

We’re delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards.

The annual awards, organised in partnership with NUJ Scotland, celebrate the exceptional work of Scotland-based journalists reporting on refugee and asylum issues. The winners were revealed at a ceremony in Glasgow on Thursday 15 June.


Winner: Lindsay Bruce and Tucker Tangeman – Press and Journal: Moment frontline Ukraine medic reunites with wife and baby in Aberdeen

Runner-Up: Amie Flett – The Courier: Student who spent 14 years in refugee camp thanks Dundee University for sanctuary


Winner: Kirsteen Paterson – Holyrood Magazine: Asylum in Scotland: What more can the Scottish Government do?

Runner-Up: Tara Fitzpatrick – STV News: Our Grades Not Visas


Winner: Robbie Armstrong, Leyla Kazim, Ibrahim Kamara and Arij Alnajjar – BBC Radio 4: The Food Programme – Glasgow: Seeking Asylum and Finding Refuge in Food

Runner-Up: Arij, Jafaar, Virginie, Ibrahim, Ghislaine and Mohammed – Greater Govanhill and Radio Buena Vida: The Sound of Refugee Voices


Winner: Nan Spowart – Sunday National: Aberfeldy community rallies to help Ukrainian refugee community

Runner-Up: Patricia-Ann Young – The Sunday Post: “When I start to sing, I can forget all of my problems”: Talented refugees hit the high notes alongside Scottish Opera


Winner: Sgeul Media – BBC Alba: FĂ ilte gu Alba/Welcome to Scotland

Runner-Up: Kath Pick and Rowan Charleson – The Loop, BBC Scoland: An Artist finds Home in Glasgow


Joint Winners

Angus Cochrane – BBC Scotland: “If I buy a bus ticket I can’t eat for two days” – asylum seeker Aymen

Karin Goodwin – The Ferret: Escalating asylum seeker deaths prompt calls for inquiry

The Media Awards are part of Refugee Festival Scotland. This year, the festival runs form 16-25 June. More than 120 events are happening in communities across Scotland.

View the full programme here.