Media Awards: Winners Announced

We’re delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards.

The annual awards, organised in partnership with NUJ Scotland, celebrate the exceptional work of Scotland-based journalists reporting on refugee and asylum issues. The winners were revealed at a ceremony in Glasgow on Thursday 15 June.


Winner: Lindsay Bruce and Tucker Tangeman – Press and Journal: Moment frontline Ukraine medic reunites with wife and baby in Aberdeen

Runner-Up: Amie Flett – The Courier: Student who spent 14 years in refugee camp thanks Dundee University for sanctuary


Winner: Kirsteen Paterson – Holyrood Magazine: Asylum in Scotland: What more can the Scottish Government do?

Runner-Up: Tara Fitzpatrick – STV News: Our Grades Not Visas


Winner: Robbie Armstrong, Leyla Kazim, Ibrahim Kamara and Arij Alnajjar – BBC Radio 4: The Food Programme – Glasgow: Seeking Asylum and Finding Refuge in Food

Runner-Up: Arij, Jafaar, Virginie, Ibrahim, Ghislaine and Mohammed – Greater Govanhill and Radio Buena Vida: The Sound of Refugee Voices


Winner: Nan Spowart – Sunday National: Aberfeldy community rallies to help Ukrainian refugee community

Runner-Up: Patricia-Ann Young – The Sunday Post: “When I start to sing, I can forget all of my problems”: Talented refugees hit the high notes alongside Scottish Opera


Winner: Sgeul Media – BBC Alba: Fàilte gu Alba/Welcome to Scotland

Runner-Up: Kath Pick and Rowan Charleson – The Loop, BBC Scoland: An Artist finds Home in Glasgow


Joint Winners

Angus Cochrane – BBC Scotland: “If I buy a bus ticket I can’t eat for two days” – asylum seeker Aymen

Karin Goodwin – The Ferret: Escalating asylum seeker deaths prompt calls for inquiry

The Media Awards are part of Refugee Festival Scotland. This year, the festival runs form 16-25 June. More than 120 events are happening in communities across Scotland.

View the full programme here.